85 Followers
103 Following
Mirkat

Mirkat Always Reading

I'm always reading something, usually multiple books at a time.

Currently reading

The Teenage Brain: A Neuroscientist's Survival Guide to Raising Adolescents and Young Adults
Frances E. Jensen, Amy Ellis Nutt, Tavia Gilbert
Incognito: The Secret Lives of the Brain (Audio)
David Eagleman

Cutaway

The Cutaway: A Novel - Christina Kovac

 

I received an ARC of this book from Netgalley.  This has not prevented me from writing an honest review.

A young, first-year law associate, Evelyn Carney, disappears after dinner with her husband in Georgetown.  When Washington, DC TV news producer Virginia Knightly sees the missing-person report, something doesn't sit right for her.  Her initial thought is that no one simply vanishes from Georgetown.  When she sees a photograph of Carney, Knightly's photographic memory  tweaks--that face appeared in a cutaway shot in a video segment that the station ran not too long before.  Remembering which segment it was might help unravel the case.

Chasing the story, Knightly finds herself pursuing a mystery that involves law enforcement and politics--and of course, things are not as they seem. 

This was a very quick read for me, and I stayed up too late a couple of nights reading it--always a good sign.  I confess I was drawn it by the promotional text suggesting it would appeal to fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.  I'd just recently finished reading The Girl on the Train, and had a Gillian Flynn binge earlier in the year; I was eager for "what's next."  I do agree this will appeal to readers who enjoy Hawkins and Flynn, though happily Christina Kovac has her own voice.  This is her first novel, and I look forward to reading more from her.

The book had some interesting twists, some of which I anticipated and some I didn't.  The heroine does do that thing I wish heroines of books wouldn't do--putting herself into dangerous situations--but then I felt she redeemed herself.  I would have liked slightly more closure at the end, but I found the ending satisfying,  otherwise.